Downsizing and Economics

There has been a trend in supermarkets and with manufacturers. What you do is you make what you sell SMALLER then charge the old price for it so that people think your product is competitive against the sad deflated state of the English economy.

It is as if retailers think I am an idiot. I can SEE there are now only three beetroot where there used to be four in a vacumn pack bag in the chiller section. And they are mini beetroot at that. Barely bigger than a ping pong ball. Not like the ones of my youth in Africa where they are the size of shuttlecocks.

I can tell you took out a couple of ml of liquid and then changed the shape of the bottle because I must be SUCH a moron I can’t see there is less in there now.

The funny thing is, supersizing is still big business. For a very small amount you can ludicriously double the food you were going to get. Which always involves JUNK food for some reason. No wonder people are getting fatter but suffering from malnutrition, filled up on sugar, fat and sodium.

But the biggest tragedy for me is the death of the latte. Somehow many independent coffee shops have started serving cafe lattes in drinking glasses. And not big tall highballs but small little breakfast tumblers. It’s like half a latte. I like supporting independent coffee shops more than a huge chain like Starbucks (who managed to tax evade their way through the finanicial year in the UK anyways so they MUST be doing okay) but this is ridiculous. Even if you are some dinky friendly little cafe with people in check aprons and big smiles and wooden spoons I would like to get what I pay for. A decent sized coffee.

For that matter, the next time I am in Africa, I am going to order a load of lattes just so I can photograph them. I miss the South African system of serving them in glass mugs with the expresso shot floating gently on the top and the milk pale white below with a sea of foam on the top. The English do not seem to understand lattes can be served delicately unmixed and foam is a real bonus and a sign of a coffee barrista able to do more than just press a button. Oh, and most importantly, the latte will hopefully not be so small a garden gnome would be the only thing who’s thirst would be quenched after it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

